UK Paperback publication day for The Child of Auschwitz!

I am DELIGHTED to announce that today is the paperback publication day for The Child of Auschwitz, published through Sphere (Little Brown).

This was without a doubt, one of the hardest books I’ve ever written, but it was one I was most compelled to write. It whispered to me while I was meant to be writing something else, and took over, after I heard the story of a woman who’d survived one of the camps and managed (when no one thought she ever could) to give birth … that something so wonderful could come from such a horrible time affected me deeply, and I knew I had to explore this more.

It is a story of friendship, survival, and the things we will do for the ones we love.

IMG_2477

A heart-breaking story of survival, where life or death relies on the smallest chance and happiness can be found in the darkest times. Fans of The Choice and The Tattooist of Auschwitz will fall in love with this beautiful novel

‘She touched the photograph in its gilt frame that was always on her desk, of a young, thin woman with very short hair and a baby in her arms. She had one last story to tell. Theirs. And it began in hell on earth.’

It is 1942 and Eva Adami has boarded a train to Auschwitz. Barely able to breathe due to the press of bodies and exhausted from standing up for two days, she can think only of her longed-for reunion with her husband Michal, who was sent there six months earlier.

But when Eva arrives at Auschwitz, there is no sign of Michal and the stark reality of the camp comes crashing down upon her. As she lies heartbroken and shivering on a thin mattress, her head shaved by rough hands, she hears a whisper. Her bunkmate, Sofie, is reaching out her hand . . .

As the days pass, the two women learn each other’s hopes and dreams – Eva’s is that she will find Michal alive in this terrible place, and Sofie’s is that she will be reunited with her son Tomas, over the border in an orphanage in Austria. Sofie sees the chance to engineer one last meeting between Eva and Michal and knows she must take it even if means befriending the enemy.

But when Eva realises she is pregnant she fears she has endangered both their lives. The women promise to protect each other’s children, should the worst occur. For they are determined to hold on to the last flower of hope in the shadows and degradation: their precious children, who they pray will live to tell their story when they no longer can.

AVAILABLE FROM THESE STORES

I had so hoped that I would be able to visit bookshops and see it out in the wild, but for now it is available to order online – and if you do want to pick up a physical copy I am happy to report that you can get it from TESCO!

Available at:

Tescos – In stores

Amazon

Foyles

Waterstones

Hachette (Sphere, Little Brown).

Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: